Heckled By ParrotsBlue Sky WritingRebecca K. O'Connor

Back to Blog Home

2012 Literary Twitteratrix Reading List

Epigram from LIFT

Noticing the sad lack of women on the end of year best-of lists, being one of those women who will likely never make one of those best-of lists and becoming suddenly enchanted by the quirky, witty and wickedly concise women writers on Twitter, I decided to build a reading list for next year.

Don’t get grumpy, boys. I’ll read your books too. In fact, I already mostly read your books and I need to fix that.

Here though, is a list of women who are active on Twitter and with the exception of just a couple of books, all were published in the last year or about to be published in 2012. Special thanks to @missliberty for really helping me bolster this list.

Will I be adding to the list? Yes.

Will I be reviewing books? Er. Um. Sort of? I’m not much of a reviewer, but I’ll certainly share why I wanted to read the book, what I love about the author’s Twitter stream and what it was about her book I enjoyed.

So here it is’ I’ll link them to posts as I read them and comment on them and feel free to add your thoughts, ideas, links to your own reading lists in the comments.

 

  • To The River, Olivia Lainge @olivialanguage
  • Imaginary Girls, Nova Ren Suma @NovaRen
  • Tethered, Amy MacKinnon @AmyMacKinnon
  • Everybody Sees the Ants, A.S. King @AS_King
  • Rin Tin Tin, Susan Orlean @SusanOrlean
  • Swords Point, Ellen Kushner (Audiobook @ACX, @NeilHimself Presents) @EllenKushner
  • Other People We Married, Emma Straub @emmastraub (Feb 2012)
  • Wild, Cheryl Strayed (March 2011) @CherylStrayed
  • Birds of a Lesser Paradise, Megan Mayhew Bergman (March 2012) @mayhewbergman
  • The Lola Quartet, Emily St. J. Mandel (May 2012) @EmilyMandel
  • The Unfinished Work of Elizabeth D, Nicole Bernier (June 2012) @NicholeBernier
  • Notes from the Underwire, Quinn Cummings (2nd book forthcoming Sept 2012) @quinncy
  • Blueprints for Building a Better Girl, Elissa Schappell @elissaschappell
  • Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, Lish McBride @TeamDamnation
  • Bad Marie, Marcy Dermansky @mdermansky
  • The Report, Jessica Francis Kane @jessicafkane
  • The End of Everything, Megan Abbott @misssaragran
  • Dog Town, Elyssa East @elyssaeast
  • The Weird Sisters, Eleanor Brown @eleanorwrites
  • Love at First Bark, Julie Klam @JulieKlam
  • Only to Deceive, Tasha Alexander @talexander